Nordic DeLights

November 19, 2017 | no responses | 1855

Oskar Koliander (DK/SE) | Jesper Kongshaug (DK) | Jakob Kvist (DK) | Hans Erik Madsen (DK)| Ragnar Mar Nikulasson (IS) | Vesa-Pekka Rannikko (FI) | Taneli Rautiainen (FI) |Hans Rosenstrom (FI) | Anne Katrine Senstad (NO) | Marita Isobel Solberg (NO) | Pink Twins (FI) | Timo Vaittinen (FI)|  Jarno Vesala (FI)

directed & curated by Vassiliki Tzanakou

David Elliott
Terry Smith


London enters 2018 aglow, with light from the Nordic countries. From 13th to 28th January, London’s Soho welcomes Nordic DeLights, the most cosy and highly anticipated Light Festival in the world. Thirteen contemporary light artists from the Nordic countries will reinterpret six venues across Soho, creating mesmerising installations with unique visual dialogues under the unifying power of light.

Celebrating the diversity of Soho, the most creative square mile in the world, A:CODE Arts Organisation, under the curatorial expertise of Vassiliki Tzanakou, has selected an eclectic range of venues for the artist’s site-specific installations, including academic institutions, a local church, a private members club and creative agencies from the film industry.

Nordic artists thrive on the medium of light. They have developed a heightened sensitivity to it, since being so far north of the equator; they spend half the year in what feels like perpetual night. The illuminating artworks will interplay with the selected venues, employing innovative interpretations of different applications of light, using the art forms of video, light architecture, design, and performance.

Most light festivals are large outdoor spectacles, but Nordic DeLights promises to be a very cosy and intimate event, taking place both indoors and outdoors, and engaging local communities with international art, to create cross-cultural dialogues and the exchange of ideas.

A:CODE look forward to share the light in Soho, from the most innovative and cutting edge contemporary Nordic artists.

photo credit Christian Stock



As well as our amazing artists, their studio teams and our consultants, we would like to specially thank for their kind support: Jon Akass| Siri Aronsen | Bronwen Batey |Charlie Behrens | Fr Simon Buckley | Lone Britt Christensen | Israel Hurtado Cola | Sidd Danis | Stephane Graff | Mia Kivinen | Helen Marriage | Paul Mean | Adrian Meehan | Anna Michoudi | Erik Moore |  Pirjo Pellinen | Anthony Van Sertima | Tony Shrimplin & Museum of Soho | Moira Rizopoulos | Nicholas Sharp |Björg Stefánsdóttir | Nanna Blaslev Strojer | Lee Sharrock |Johanna Vakkari | Marcela Iriarte Villaboros | Mark Westall | Meng Zhou 


Platinum Sponsors

Funded by

Supported by


Contributing Venues

Zero One